Cyrus MR3 issues

post questions / problems regarding Cyrus kit here, or any other queries of a tech nature.
barditus67
Five+
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:24 am

Cyrus MR3 issues

Postby barditus67 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:06 am

Hi.....could anyone please help?....I’m having trouble with setting up the MR3....Volume control isn’t working, either with RF remote or manually....the zone 1 speaker sockets seem smaller than the standard 4mm banana-type, and in the instructions it states that the MR3 has internal power amp, meaning I can simply plug a CD player in and connect speakers to zone 1 terminals and I would be up and running.....however, when I emailed Cyrus for clarification I was told this was not possible, that I would need an external power amp....is this the case?.....***now I know I’ve been chastised on this forum for placing posts and not returning to respond....for this I apologise and would plead for clemency, and would hope for a return to the fold...***
ACA7.5, 3xQ Power, Dad3, DVD7Q, DVD7,2xDVD8, FM7.5, Dacmaster, AV5, Michell Gyrodec with Rega RB300, Audio Technical AT-F3/OCC, Project Phono, Monitor Audio BR5, BR1, BR-LCR...

mojo
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2002 11:23 pm

Re: Cyrus MR3 issues

Postby mojo » Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:42 am

barditus67 wrote:however, when I emailed Cyrus for clarification I was told this was not possible, that I would need an external power amp....is this the case?.....


Cyrus are wrong about their own product. You can run one zone without a power amp.

barditus67
Five+
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:24 am

Re: Cyrus MR3 issues

Postby barditus67 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:18 am

Hi...thanks very much for the swift response....I thought Cyrus were mistaken on this point...regards
ACA7.5, 3xQ Power, Dad3, DVD7Q, DVD7,2xDVD8, FM7.5, Dacmaster, AV5, Michell Gyrodec with Rega RB300, Audio Technical AT-F3/OCC, Project Phono, Monitor Audio BR5, BR1, BR-LCR...

mojo
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2002 11:23 pm

Re: Cyrus MR3 issues

Postby mojo » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:26 am

The sockets will probably be 3mm banana - Cyrus used these just before they moved to BFA. You can still get plugs cheaply on Ebay, or expensively via an audio parts seller.

barditus67
Five+
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:24 am

Re: Cyrus MR3 issues

Postby barditus67 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:52 am

I thought as much, just needed clarification....thanks again....
ACA7.5, 3xQ Power, Dad3, DVD7Q, DVD7,2xDVD8, FM7.5, Dacmaster, AV5, Michell Gyrodec with Rega RB300, Audio Technical AT-F3/OCC, Project Phono, Monitor Audio BR5, BR1, BR-LCR...

mojo
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2002 11:23 pm

Re: Cyrus MR3 issues

Postby mojo » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:55 am

It was essentially a good product, but undermined by some serious design flaws, sadly.

barditus67
Five+
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:24 am

Re: Cyrus MR3 issues

Postby barditus67 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:40 pm

Could I trouble you to elaborate please?...design flaws?....I could imagine the RF remote being a bit of a nightmare....but what other perils have I opened the door to?...regards
ACA7.5, 3xQ Power, Dad3, DVD7Q, DVD7,2xDVD8, FM7.5, Dacmaster, AV5, Michell Gyrodec with Rega RB300, Audio Technical AT-F3/OCC, Project Phono, Monitor Audio BR5, BR1, BR-LCR...

mojo
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2002 11:23 pm

Re: Cyrus MR3 issues

Postby mojo » Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:03 pm

Mainly the RF remote! On mine, they had chosen a frequency range that is no longer used for that type of device, and it was very prone to interference, so range was poor.

It also very regularly lost the association between remote and base unit, and resyncing every day or so was a pain, as the procedure was not user-friendly. I sent mine back to Cyrus for testing and repair, but it was no better after that.

And the remote was unique to that product, so when you decide you want another, they are unobtainable. Don't be tempted to get an RF remote for the Quattro of the same period - they are not compatible.

You occasionally see MR3s on Ebay "missing the remote". What the seller never admits is that they are near-enough useless without the remote, because you can only change a subset of the base unit's settings on the front panel.

barditus67
Five+
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:24 am

Re: Cyrus MR3 issues

Postby barditus67 » Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:18 pm

Ahh...sounds like I've bought myself a dud....as, even though the remote was supplied, I can't get the thing to sync with the MR3....oh well, you live and learn.....thanks for your help on this....much appreciated..
ACA7.5, 3xQ Power, Dad3, DVD7Q, DVD7,2xDVD8, FM7.5, Dacmaster, AV5, Michell Gyrodec with Rega RB300, Audio Technical AT-F3/OCC, Project Phono, Monitor Audio BR5, BR1, BR-LCR...

mojo
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
Posts: 443
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2002 11:23 pm

Re: Cyrus MR3 issues

Postby mojo » Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:20 pm

The remote may be broken - but read the manual, and then read it again, just in case.