Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

post questions / problems regarding Cyrus kit here, or any other queries of a tech nature.
RogerZwart
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:36 am

Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby RogerZwart » Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:51 am

Hello,

I'm a happy owner of a Cyrus 3. Now i've bought a PSX-R to upgrade the 3. I have followed the instructions on this forum (thanks for that) to modify my Cyrus 3 so it will accept the PSX-R. When flip the back switches both light turn red, in standby mode. When I activate the Cyrus 3 both lights on the devices turn green. So far so good. I have connected my speakers and a anolog source but no sound is coming from the speakers.

I have dubbel checked everything, without succes. Now I have re-modyfied the 3 back to original and it works fine again.

Did I do something wrong? Hope you guys can help me with this.

Thanks in advance!

Kind regards,
Roger


Without PSX-R:
Image

With PSX-R:
Image

Inside of the PSX-R:
Image

User avatar
Robert
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2646
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 12:53 am
Contact:

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby Robert » Sun Feb 12, 2017 3:57 pm

Check for and do number 4 if you havent already.

Image
home office: Dell laptop running JRriver MC22 / Meridian Explorer / AKG 550's
music room: PC transport running JRiver MC22 / Naim DAC-V1 / Naim Supernait 2 / Neat Motive SX2
kitchen: Naim Unitiqute 2 / Naim NAP100 / Totem Dreamcatchers

RogerZwart
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:36 am

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby RogerZwart » Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:03 pm

Thank you, I could not find something like it. Are those supposed to be there on a Cyrus 3?

User avatar
Robert
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2646
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 12:53 am
Contact:

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby Robert » Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:19 pm

No, as it says "these are not fitted to all".
Given that both units power on successfully and you have green lights but no sound, check the connections again. i.e. make sure your source and your loudspeakers are connected correctly, and the correct source is selected as input.
home office: Dell laptop running JRriver MC22 / Meridian Explorer / AKG 550's
music room: PC transport running JRiver MC22 / Naim DAC-V1 / Naim Supernait 2 / Neat Motive SX2
kitchen: Naim Unitiqute 2 / Naim NAP100 / Totem Dreamcatchers

RogerZwart
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:36 am

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby RogerZwart » Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:25 pm

Robert wrote:No, as it says "these are not fitted to all".
Given that both units power on successfully and you have green lights but no sound, check the connections again. i.e. make sure your source and your loudspeakers are connected correctly, and the correct source is selected as input.


Thanks! Checked it all again. Going crazy here, haha

User avatar
Robert
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2646
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 12:53 am
Contact:

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby Robert » Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:15 pm

Please upload a photo of the Iii back panel with everything connected. If that is proves to be correct, then not much more can be suggested over the internet, you'll need to get the units checked over by a suitable engineer.
home office: Dell laptop running JRriver MC22 / Meridian Explorer / AKG 550's
music room: PC transport running JRiver MC22 / Naim DAC-V1 / Naim Supernait 2 / Neat Motive SX2
kitchen: Naim Unitiqute 2 / Naim NAP100 / Totem Dreamcatchers

RogerZwart
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:36 am

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby RogerZwart » Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:23 am

You mean the back panel, not inside? I can make a picture tonight but I have connected everything right on the backpanel. Remember it's playing now again in the setting without PSX and everything works fine..

User avatar
Robert
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2646
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 12:53 am
Contact:

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby Robert » Mon Feb 13, 2017 12:50 pm

I can only assume then that 1 or both of the items are faulty. Either the psxr is not functioning correctly, or the 3 amp does not function correctly in "psxr ready" mode. You'll need to get both checked by Cyrus themselves or a competent electronics engineer.
home office: Dell laptop running JRriver MC22 / Meridian Explorer / AKG 550's
music room: PC transport running JRiver MC22 / Naim DAC-V1 / Naim Supernait 2 / Neat Motive SX2
kitchen: Naim Unitiqute 2 / Naim NAP100 / Totem Dreamcatchers

RogerZwart
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:36 am

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby RogerZwart » Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:19 pm

Oke, thank you.

Can I try other variations with the colored cables without the chance I break something?

User avatar
angelface
Addicted
Addicted
Posts: 1764
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 2:00 pm

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby angelface » Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:17 pm

Have you checked the plug on the PSX-R cable?

I had a dodgy connection and when I unscrewed the plug I could see one of the solders had broken.

I found an electronics shop in France and the guy resoldered it for me in return for finding our something on a website in English.

User avatar
Robert
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2646
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 12:53 am
Contact:

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby Robert » Mon Feb 13, 2017 4:22 pm

RogerZwart wrote:Oke, thank you.

Can I try other variations with the colored cables without the chance I break something?

Swapping over the 2 pairs of cables is the only thing to be done (aside from the jumpers which your model doesnt have). I wouldnt experiment with these connectors in other configurations.
I note your toroidal psu is marked with a date of October 2015, which suggests a repair / service has been made, what else was done at the same time?
home office: Dell laptop running JRriver MC22 / Meridian Explorer / AKG 550's
music room: PC transport running JRiver MC22 / Naim DAC-V1 / Naim Supernait 2 / Neat Motive SX2
kitchen: Naim Unitiqute 2 / Naim NAP100 / Totem Dreamcatchers

RogerZwart
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:36 am

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby RogerZwart » Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:31 pm

Robert wrote:
RogerZwart wrote:Oke, thank you.

Can I try other variations with the colored cables without the chance I break something?

Swapping over the 2 pairs of cables is the only thing to be done (aside from the jumpers which your model doesnt have). I wouldnt experiment with these connectors in other configurations.
I note your toroidal psu is marked with a date of October 2015, which suggests a repair / service has been made, what else was done at the same time?


I have to ask the seller. Could that be the issue?

RogerZwart
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:36 am

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby RogerZwart » Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:58 pm

angelface wrote:Have you checked the plug on the PSX-R cable?

I had a dodgy connection and when I unscrewed the plug I could see one of the solders had broken.

I found an electronics shop in France and the guy resoldered it for me in return for finding our something on a website in English.


PSX-R plug seems fine. I do have an unattached yellow wire at the PSX-R connection inside the amp. You can see it in the picture:

Image

mojo
Sr. Member
Sr. Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2002 11:23 pm

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby mojo » Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:55 pm

If the cable that runs from the main circuit board to the PSX-R socket has six cores, this is normal - normally only five wires are present, so presumably someone has replaced this cable at some point in the past. Can you determine whether the other end of the yellow cable is connected to anything?

RogerZwart
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:36 am

Re: Cyrus 3 PSX-R problems

Postby RogerZwart » Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:08 pm

mojo wrote:If the cable that runs from the main circuit board to the PSX-R socket has six cores, this is normal - normally only five wires are present, so presumably someone has replaced this cable at some point in the past. Can you determine whether the other end of the yellow cable is connected to anything?


Oke thanks. It seems not connected to anything..