Help with a Hum

post questions / problems regarding Cyrus kit here, or any other queries of a tech nature.
johnandvirginia

Help with a Hum

Postby johnandvirginia » Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:21 pm

My recent acquisition - the Rega RP6 + Lehmann Black Cube - sounds lovely but is spoiled by an annoying hum. Normally I would have connected the grounding wire from the turntable into the phono stage but there doesn't appear to be a grounding wire on the Rega!
Is there any way that I can connect a grounding wire so that I can stop the hum? Many thanks for any help.

MiniCoupeman

Re: Help with a Hum

Postby MiniCoupeman » Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:17 pm

First and very important. I have no tech knowledge at all! Now I have had similar problems in the past with various bits of kit and the advice I was given was to wire a plug to the earth teminal ONLY, and attach the other end to metal casework of the offending bit of kit. I believe this also works if it is attached to kit that is 'connected' i.e. Phono stage/Turntable. It is easy to try, apparently can do no damage and in my case, cured the hum.

mickbald
Addicted
Addicted

Postby mickbald » Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:27 pm

On the Cube there is a ground point. Connect a wire on there and touch first the outer sleeve of the phono plug from the Rega. Then touch exposed parts (not anything inside the Rega) until the hum goes.

On my TT there is a ground lead running alongside the phono leads so you are probably looking to replicate this.

If this isolates the hum you need to work out how to connect a permanent fix. Come back for suggestions on how to do this.

Lancashirelad

Postby Lancashirelad » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:24 am